Ode To Delay

 

On the brink
of inward apocalypse,
full realization came.
It was the darkest of night,
the weary traveller longed for home.
Half coal,
cocooned beauty.
Then, dawn brightens the sky,
the weary traveller is home.
Coal, now dusty diamond.
The beautiful butterfly meets the world.
And the dear price
of patience,
is paid in full.

 

 

It dawned on me that I will almost always have to explain my poetry. See my poetry is very personal and sometimes hard to understand, or so I’ve been told. I hardly ever write poetry. I write when inspired by a situation, life event, et cetera.Β  While everything is open to interpretation, and I’d like the reader to interpret this in any way they may please, I’ll explain what I mean.

This particular piece, as the name may suggest, is about tolerance, waiting, patience, and related issues. Necessary delays. They say it’s darkest before dawn, a diamond is a piece of coal that stuck to its job, and a butterfly has to go through the larval stage (you probably can’t imagine how beautiful the little guy in the above pic will look in a few days) and be cocooned for a while before emerging as the beautiful creature it is.

They say patience pays. They (always wonder who ‘they’ are) also say ‘good things come to those who wait’, ‘the best is yet to come’, and many other one-liners relating to patience. I believe patience is a great virtue that I, sadly, do not have a lot of. I’m the kind to say, “God, please give me patience, NOW!” Anyhow, I do pray for patience. And not only that, but also to maintain a good attitude while waiting for whatever it is I will be waiting for in any case. I pray the same for you…especially as you await my next entry. πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “Ode To Delay

  1. That’s one of the things I’m working on learning: how to be patient. I think that, after wisdom, it’s one of the keys to success. And so I also pray for the same.

  2. I’ve always loved your poetry. The quarky ones especially. πŸ™‚ This is really good. Patience is a tricky lesson to learn. There are tests every way you turn.

  3. patient has always bin ma biggest challenge in life.am not so much into poetry but this one made a lot of sense to me.its btf!

  4. This piece is so relevant to my life right now. It’s almost unnerving that I came across it today, right now. Do I say thank you…? What is the etiquette here? Hmmm.

    I stumbled upon your blog a few minutes ago and I’m devouring it, really. You are so eloquent. Good job. Subscribed =)

    • What a pleasant surprise! Just yesterday, I tweeted about stumbling upon your fabulous fashion blog and asked about who runs it. Look through my tweets πŸ™‚ I suppose we stumbled upon each other. Thank you. Glad you’re enjoying mine as much as I am yours. You have great fashion sense, and I love your blog bio. I really should work on mine, and I am also quite long winded πŸ™‚

      • I suppose we did. A welcome coincidence. I’d check your Twitter for hard evidence, but I left Twitter and I don’t have the gusto for proper web-trawling right now. Take your word for it? Yes, I think I will.
        Thank you – not so much fashion sense as access to free clothes from a fashioonable mother, and I’m glad you like it, the only bit of halfway coherent prose on my blog. AND long-windedness (see, a befittingly long word) is for champions. We are champions (And I am a closeted motivational speaker, evidently).
        (How’s THAT for long-winded?)

Leave a Reply

