How to take a Twitter break

Sometime in April, I decided to log off Twitter for a couple of important (seriously) reasons that I will not disclose. Ok, it was for the GREATER good. Happy? Anyhow, it will become clear once you read what I have to say. It was actually on March 31st, which means that I missed all the hilarious April Fools’ tweets that I found out about later. So here are a few steps I learnt about quitting Twitter when you need to.

1. Decide to quit twitter for a couple of days. Trust me, you definitely have a reason. At least four days. Any less and there won’t be much effect.

2. Don’t announce your departure on Twitter. Make your last tweet an indefinite one. My last one before I took a break was, “Coke before bedtime – not a good idea.” And it wasn’t.

3. Tweeps you know may randomly mention in conversation or on a call or text, that they have not seen your tweets for a while. You will, of course, respond to this by telling them that you’re on a Twitter break. They will want to know why. Give a vague and mysterious answer to those that ask. Say stuff like, “I felt like it was time.” Or “I’m doing this for my country”. Those are good enough answers. Don’t say when you’ll be back on Twitter.

4. Keep a dramatic diary of your days away from Twitter. Here’s an excerpt from mine.

“So I decided to take a break from Twitter for several days (four days, that include a weekend so you can imagine the magnitude of this action :D) for a number of important reasons… This is the diary I kept for those four agonizing days:

Day 1– 31/3/2011
NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! I AM DYING TO TWEET!! I logged into Twitter several times today…you know to see how things were going, though I didn’t tweet 😦 I really wanna Tweet right now. I’m addicted, right? Anyway I logged in, read people’s tweets, laughed at some… Also, I saw some really great tweets that I was dying to retweet, but I could not. OH THE HUMANITY!! Am I being too dramatic about this? I mean it’s only Twitter. SIGH 😦
Oh you should know that I replied two DMs today, dear temporary diary. If our brief relationship is going to work, I have to tell you everything. Those DMs were important. Seriously, they were…” End of excerpt.

5. Log in once in a while during your break just to see how things are going, but DO NOT tweet. Actually, after day one of your break, refrain from doing this. You’ll be surprised by how much free time you suddenly have. Use this time wisely. Bird watching or ice sculpting are viable options. If not, read a book or something.

6. After your break is over, make a nonchalant return, never mentioning that you were away unless someone asks. Give previously mentioned vague answers to anyone who asks why you needed to be off Twitter.

And you’re back to the same old addiction that you love to hate.

Note:
This won’t work if you’re not a frequent Tweeter/addicted to Twitter. Also, now that I’m not really addicted to Twitter (Don’t look at me like that! I’m not! *shrugs*) and can take a whole day, nay, two days off comfortably, I look back on those days and chuckle at my…well, I just chuckle.

Have you had any trouble with social media addiction? Any tips?

22 thoughts on “How to take a Twitter break

  1. Question: How do we know that your reasons are serious if you don’t tell us? hmmm 🙂

    And who needs a twitter break, I can quit anytime. *walks away*

  2. I am currently looking for balance…. I might have found it actually. I tried quitting in vain. Now Im working with balance. I even managed three weeks off whatsapp…my latest addiction!!!
    You forgot to mention one thing that has worked for me. Deactivate all the twitter clients. It helps. When they are there,they are too tempting

    • Good point. Deactivate Twitter clients, and also turn off text alerts if you have any. Since we can hardly imagine our lives without Twitter at the moment, yes, balance is good. 🙂

  3. Dude, I deactivated my account thinking, Oh this’ll be like Facebook, I can log back in whenever.

    Yeah… no.

    So I, like, DIED (twied?). The first few days, the withdrawal symptoms were of epic proportions; my fingers would twitch like “MUST… TWEET… NOW…” and I was ACHING to stalk my love-interest at the time (who, as it turned out, had a girlfriend… figures), but I triumphed over temptation.

    I’ve been clean for nearly 2 months now. And I am smug.

    • Clean? How? Why? Twitter needs you. 🙂 Oh well congratulations for overcoming your addiction. For me, it’s not. I can stop whenever I want 😀

  4. hahaha,very good read:) I was forced to go on a sabbatical smack in th middle of my addiction … twitter hsnt bin th same 4 me since:( Enjoy ur various addictions,bcz they will eventualy pass 😛

  5. You should try getting unceremoniously suspended from twitter. A week long unplanned break is guaranteed to drive one crazy.

  6. […] How to Take a Twitter Break: Sometime in April, I decided to log off Twitter for a couple of important (seriously) reasons that I will not disclose. Ok, it was for the GREATER good. Happy? Anyhow, it will become clear once you read what I have to say. It was actually on March 31st, which means that I missed all the hilarious April Fools’ tweets that I found out about later. [From Unsaid but Written] […]

    • Tell me about it! You miss a few hours and log in to find Gaddafi captured, injured and killed. I’d like to think that some people notice when you’re gone, only that they are too shy to say…because they’re probably stalking you 😀

Leave a Reply

